My Singapore Lover Book Reviews

Periplus holds Meet and Greet the Author of ‘My Singapore Lover’ Judy Chapman The Bali Times, May, 2014
Read the article

‘A Lion’s Tale‘, Bali Style, Vol 1 2014
My Singapore Lover represents Ms.Chapman’s first foray into fiction writing, and she enters the field with all cylinders firing in perfection with an elegantly written, keenly sensitive story of love, culture and character in Asia.
The reader will find himself comfortably immersed in the tropical essence of Southeast Asia, gently coaxed to this world by a prose rhythm and diction that seem, themselves, to have risen on a breeze from the humid, sunbaked, sweet-scented air. The setting will seem true to those of us who live here, and truly inviting to those of us who do not. This is a wise, honest story of love and self-discovery, and well worth the read.

‘Judy Chapman’, Her Wold magazine, Malaysia , February, 2014
Why are Western men so attracted to Asian women? That’s what Sara aims to find out as she arrives in Singapore as a new expat from the West. However, she soon finds herself caught up in the glamour of the metropolis followed by promises of a career, wealth and success. Sara also becomes tangled up in a forbidden affair with a charming but married Singaporean hotelier. As she embarks on a journey of selfdiscovery, she is forced to confront her past.

Following Her Inner Voice’, The Jakarta Post, February 3rd, 2014
Read Interview

‘Inspired Beauty’, Asia Dreams magazine, February, 2014
Read article

‘Air Asia January 2014’, Air Asia in-flight magazine, January, 2014 Read article

‘Bali Ex Pat Magazine’, Indonesia Expat, October 7th, 2013
Read the article

‘Judy Chapman‘ – an interview with an author, I-Magazine, October, 2014
Read the article

‘Asia Affair’, Hello Bali magazine, November, 2013
Read the article

‘On the Grapevine’, The Source Magazine, November 2013
Read the article

‘Successful debut novel for Sanctum co-founder’, The Byron News
Read the article

‘500 words from Judy Chapman’, October 30th, 2013
Read the article

‘My Singapore Lover’ was a highly anticipated pleaser 🙂
As a fellow free-spirited Aussie expat in Asia, I enjoyed relating to the main character’s struggles and insights as she tried to balance her personal and professional desires in a foreign land. Part ’50 shades’, Part ‘Tony Parsons’, Judy’s style was provocative and entertaining. It was a perfect Summer holiday read. I look forward to the next adventure of Sara!
Janelle Maree, January, 2014

5 out of 5 stars
‘this debut novel takes hold of you and it’s hard to put down’
It’s a rich novel of a woman’s search for love and happiness, which reads easily. A great holiday read, with some depth which will resonate with you for days afterwards.I only wish there was a sequel so I could take it on holidays with me today!!!
Sally Mathrick, December 25,2013

5 out of 5 stars ‘It’s a beautifully written novel – rich, sensual and exotic’
I absolutely loved this book and devoured it over 2 rainy days. Judy has a lovely way of using metaphors, where the words flow easily, almost poetically, without being in the slightest jarring.
Many of the places in the novel really do exist in Singapore, which gives the book an authentic touch. I agree with another reviewer that the cover doesn’t really do it justice, but the writing is absolutely fabulous.
Highly recommended.
Rachel, November 28th, 2013

4 out of 5 stars ‘Great first novel’
This is a great first novel. Very sensual for all the senses. It was light rather than heavy. I felt in some places it was shallow in the subject matter (hedonism) yet on the other hand it was so beautifully aesthetically exquisite in its aromatic style. It is deep and contemplating though. For me reading this book was like sailing in smooth seas on a boat. Great cultural references. I liked the characters although Sara’s obsession with beauty was a bit much at times but the language is intoxicating. As I was reading this book I needed to have Vietnamese for lunch and Thai for dinner!
Louise, November 26th, 2013

5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best romance novels I have read. October 22, 2013
‘Classy, elegant writing with glamour and spirituality. A great read. You will be left thinking about it long after you have finished reading it’
Marionne

Fabulous meander through life in Singapore, October 6, 2013
I loved this book, it’s fiction and yet its so real I could almost imagine I was reading an autobiography….Its a great book, one to read slowly, savour and look back on, to wonder “what if she…” and see just how hard it is to succeed in a career and personal life while still being true to oneself….Its a book too that you’d like to re read for the sheer richness of the life in Singapore, and the way the inhabitants live it. The huge contrast between the locals and the expats, (why is it people are so proud of living differently to the locals when they live among them. Why don’t they want to integrate and enjoy the differences in culture and everyday life while they are there? Sara does, but she’s one a few – most are in their own little ex pat enclaves and proud of it)
Stars: hmnnn – almost a five, four and a half.
By Jeannie Zelos (UK)

Review by Singapore Girl
A humorous but sometimes serious look a living and loving in Singapore

September 12th, 2013 – customer review
The book ‘My Singapore Lover’ is really about being in love with Singapore and how that can affect your life. It’s a good book with reflective moods and then funny gossipy parts, a few bad guys and a journey of self discovery. Like Singapore it can be many things to different people, if you are looking for a glimpse into a grown up city with love and adventures of the heart – start here.
Blogger Jeannie Zelos Book Review

3 of 5 stars bookshelves: arc-netgalley, contemporary, women-s-fiction
Read from November 14 to 15, 2013
My Singapore Lover, isn’t a romance. In fact the title is more a symbol or a catalyst for change for Sara, the protagonist in the story. It details her life in Singapore, a blonde blue eyed young lady who has been traveling the world trying to find out her path. The series starts out as the ending and from a series of flashbacks and introspection she details how she got to that point. Its a well written novel, more introspective than narrative. The only jarring point would be the constant jumping around in the tale, so you tend to get lost on whether what you are reading is happening or has happened. Otherwise its still a good read.

4.0 out of 5 stars Life, love and heartbreak in Singapore, October 25, 2013
This review is from: My Singapore Lover: A Novel of Passion, Beauty and The Secrets of Singapore (Kindle Edition).
A great story. Judy has captured the city of Singapore with her beautiful descriptions of the city and it’s inhabitants. The lives of Sara’s friends are also wonderfully drawn, and they seemed to come alive within the pages. I sympathised with Sara’s struggle in the work-place, and her attempt to make it in the business world while retaining her creativity. It was really sad when she began to show signs of stress, for example when she found herself yelling at taxi drivers. The love affair was a typically hopeless romance that many will have experienced: intense but doomed from the beginning. Bravo for giving us an insight into all the richness of life, love, despair and hope of an ex-pat in Singapore.
By C I Byrne

Menu